Storage Units Jarrell Texas 76537

Questions About Renting Self Storage Units (FAQ)

Common Self Storage Questions

What is the Difference Between Business Hours and Gate Hours?

Business hours are 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM Monday through Friday, 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM on Saturday and 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM on Sunday.  Property managers are available by phone, email, and text during normal business hours.

Gate hours indicate when the electronic gate is operational for access to your unit with your personal gate code. Our gate hours are 6 am to 10 pm (16 hours) per day 7 days per week.

Do I Have to Sign a Self Storage Unit Lease?

Yes, all tenants must sign a standardized storage lease by the Texas Self Storage Association (TSSA) that explains the rights and responsibilities of each party. Our storage units are rented on a month-to-month basis so there is no long term contract or security deposit required.

What Sort of Security Measures Do You Have in Place?

The property has a six foot fence around the perimeter. We have an electronic entry gate with individual access codes. There are more than 40 closed-circuit cameras on the property and LED lights on each building that come on during the evening.

Do I Have to Provide My Own Lock for My Storage Unit?

No, we will provide you a free brand new lock that is yours to keep and your storage unit must be locked at all times. 

Do I Need to Purchase Renter's Insurance?

Although you are not required to purchase insurance through us for your belongings stored in your storage unit(s),  insurance coverage is required at all times. Per the lease agreement, we are not responsible for damage to your items. Some homeowner insurance policies will include off-site locations like storage units in their coverage. Please immediately contact your insurance agent to find out if you have coverage, and if not, purchase a policy.

Do I Need to Give Notice When I Move Out?

Yes. The Texas Self Storage Association (TSSA) lease states that a minimum of a ten day written move-out notice is required.  Additionally, we will require move-out photos that show your unit(s) are empty and clean.

Questions About Storage Units

What Type Storage Unit Do I Need?

That depends on what you will be storing. If you are storing collectibles, electronics or items that would be damaged by extreme temperatures, you will want an indoor, climate-controlled unit. Indoor units have their access doors on the inside of the building and building temperatures usually range between 50 to 80 degrees.

If you have heavy items or are a frequent visitor to your unit, being able to drive up to the door of an outside unit is very handy. Most items will be fine in an outdoor, drive-up storage unit as long as they are packed properly.

What Size Storage Unit Do I Need?

Think about the items that you will be storing in your unit. Is it mostly boxes and items that can be easily stacked and organized? Are there awkward shaped items that will make it more difficult?

Grab a tape measure or walk it out on the floor so it’s easier for you to visualize the actual space.

A 5′ x 10′ unit is less than half the size of a small children’s bedroom, like a big walk-in closet. A 10′ x 20′ unit is the size of a one car garage. A 10′ x 10′ unit is half that size.

Remember that our units have 10′ ceilings so you can stack items higher. Just be sure not to have so much weight stacked that you crush or damage your belongings.

Questions About Paying For Storage

What Type of Payments Do You Accept?

We accept debit cards and major credit cards including MasterCard®, Discover®, Visa®, or American Express®. We do not accept cash, personal checks, cashier checks or money orders.

Can I Pay My Bill Online?

Yes, we will set you up with an online account where you can pay online. You can also have your account set up for Auto-Pay, if you would like.

How Much Does It Cost to Move In?

Your first month is paid in full plus we collect a $20 one-time administrative fee for doing the paperwork and getting your account set up. The second month is prorated so that you are only billed for the number of days left in the original month in which you moved in.

When Is My Monthly Payment Due?

All monthly payments are due on the first of each month and are subject to late fees if not received by the fifth of each month.

Packing and Moving Questions

Do You Provide a Moving Truck?
Currently, we do not offer a moving truck and we do not rent trucks. Please contact Uhaul, Penske, or Home Depot to rent a truck.
Do You Provide Moving Carts and/or Dollies?

If you are moving into one of our inside units with hallways, we have push carts and hand dollies available free of charge. 

Do You Have Moving and Packing Supplies For Sale?

No, since we do not have anyone on site, we do not offer moving supplies for sale.